Home: Robins AFB Library: National Hobby Month

Online Resources to Learn New Hobbies Through the Base Library!

Hoopla Digital-From the comfort of home, access the latest in movies, music, audio-books, eBooks, comics, and TV shows. (Available Movies & eBooks Collection)

Mango Languages-Tell your story in a new language through Mango Languages, which features over 70+ languages to learn!

ArtistWorks through Libby-Provides world-class instruction for the most popular string and band instruments through self-paced video lessons from professional musicians.

Craftsy through Libby-Is an online resource for all creative makers from basic instruction to advanced techniques for fabric and yarn crafts, baking, drawing, and much more.

The Great Courses through Libby-Offers engaging and understandable lectures by esteemed professors, professionals, and experts in topics ranging from history, better living, science, language learning, and much more.

Universal Class through Libby-Brings libraries lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs).

Kanopy-One of the best ways to learn about film is to watch films. With that in mind, we're excited to announce the launch of Kanopy Film Club. Check out their article on cinematography with a list of related titles at letterboxd.com/kanopy/story/kanopyfilm-club-character-1-cinematography.

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center-Offers detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Ancestry Library Edition-Unlock the story of your family. Ancestry Library Edition offers access to over 7 billion names from more than 4,000 genealogical databases.

fold3 Library Edition-Fold3 Library Edition allows users access to US military records, including the stories, photos and personal documents of those who served from the Revolutionary War onward.

About National Hobby Month

What do you like to do in your spare time? Every January, during National Hobby Month, thousands of Americans celebrate their favorite hobbies and try out new ones. From outdoor activities like swimming or hiking, to artsy projects like painting or knitting — most of us have go-to pursuits. During this month, don’t just stick to your regular routine. Expand your list of hobbies and share the ones you love. (Source)

Baking & Cooking

The Complete Cookbook for Teen Chefs by America's Test America's Test Kitchen Kids
ISBN: 9781948703956
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
For the first time ever, America's Test Kitchen is bringing their rigorous testing, kitchen knowhow, and hands-on learning to TEENAGERS in the kitchen. Start with fundamental kitchen techniques and move on to over 70 teen-tested, teen-approved recipes that range from simple breakfasts to family dinners to show-stopping desserts. This book is from the editors of the New York Times bestselling series for young chefs.
The Cook You Want to Be by Andy Baraghani
ISBN: 9781984858566
Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Beloved food writer and social media star Andy Baraghani helps you define and develop your personal cooking style—and become the cook you want to be—in more than 100 recipes.
Kids Can Cook Anything! by America's Test America's Test Kitchen Kids
ISBN: 9781954210240
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
With the fifth book in the #1 New York Times Best Selling Young Chef Series, America's Test Kitchen is bringing its scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to KIDS in the kitchen!
The Pioneer Woman Cooks--The New Frontier by Ree Drummond
ISBN: 9780062561374
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
The #1 New York Times bestselling author and Food Network favorite The Pioneer Woman cooks up exciting new favorites from her life on the ranch in this glorious full-color cookbook that showcases home cooking at its most delicious (and most fun!).

Jewelry Making

Cool Careers Without College for People Who Can Build Things by Heather Moore Niver
ISBN: 9781477718247
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
Finding a career out of high school based on one's interests, especially something as general as liking to build things, isn't always easy. However, this volume gives readers a variety of avenues to consider. Readers can consider careers as a gardener, sculptor, tailor, carpenter, and doll maker. Not only can they learn how to break into these fields, but each section has a listing of resources to further their research. Young people just out of high school can take that ever-important first step on their way to a career.
Get a Job Making Stuff to Sell by Ryan Jacobson; Jon Cannell (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781467738378
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Do you enjoy using your creativity to make something new? What if you could turn those skills into cash? Good news: You can go into business making and selling items that people want--from sports flags to fancy phone covers. This book will show you the ins and outs of each moneymaking venture and give you the tips and tricks you need to get started.

Gardening

Herb Gardening for Dummies by Karan Davis Cutler; Kathleen Fisher; Suzanne DeJohn; National Gardening Association
ISBN: 9780470617786
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
A plain-English guide to the world of herb gardening Starting an herb garden isn't free, but it certainly outweighs the growing costs of buying retail herbs. Plus, adding homegrown ingredients to your meals is a healthy and tasty way to improve upon any dish you whip up at home. This friendly, hands-on guide is an excellent introduction to the world of herb gardening. It gives you tips and advice to grow a thriving herb garden that will add depth and flavor to home-cooked meals-as well as boost your health.
New Garden Book by Better Homes and Gardens Editors (Editor); Marilyn Rogers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780696214127
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative gardening reference available; Each chapter is produced by horticultural experts; Easy-to-follow instructions for landscaping with trees, shrubs, flowers, lawns and roses; Chapters feature more plants that previous editions, with detailed selection guides and hardiness zone maps; Includes the latest trends in water gardens, outdoor rooms, container gardens, regional gardening and lot planning; Tips and advice give new homeowners and new gardening hobbyists great-looking gardens; 1000+ photographs.
Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening by Anna Kruger (Abridged by); Maria Rodale (Foreword by); Pauline Pears (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780756609320
Publication Date: 2005-04-18
This gorgeously illustrated guide to gardening contains the tips and techniques needed to produce beautiful flowers, top-quality herbs, and appetizing, wholesome fruits and vegetables. Explore the latest methods for cultivation without chemicals, discover the benefits of composting, and learn how to maintain an organic garden year-round.
Tips for Container Gardening by Editors of Fine Gardening
ISBN: 9781600853401
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Truth be told, you can grow almost anything in a pot and you can place those pots anywhere --on a deck, patio or rooftop. That's why so many people love container gardening. It's versatile enough for suburban homeowners with acres of land as well as apartment-dwellers with no patch of ground to call their own.

Foreign Languages

Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning German by Alicia Muller; Stephan Muller; Lisa Graham
ISBN: 9781592571864
Publication Date: 2004-04-06
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning German, Third Edition, is a fun, easy-to-understand, and non-intimidating guide to the basics of the German language. In addition to covering the essentials of grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and conversation, this new edition has been updated to reflect world events that have occurred over the past few years.
The Everything Learning Russian Book with CD by Julia Stakhnevich
ISBN: 9781598693874
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Learning Russian is an exciting challenge--even saying "hello" and "goodbye" seems daunting! Whether you're planning a trip to Russia or adding a valuable second language to your resume, this book is just what you need. Julia Stakhnevich, a native Russian speaker, will help you to: Recognize and read Cyrillic letters. Pronounce Russian words like a native.
The Hanmoji Handbook by Jason Li (Illustrator); An Xiao Mina; Jennifer 8. Lee
ISBN: 9781536219135
Publication Date: 2022-08-30
Learn Chinese with a new twist! This full-color illustrated handbook introduces and explains Han characters and idioms through the language of emoji. Even though their dates of origin are millennia apart, the languages of Chinese and emoji share similarities that the average smartphone user might find surprising. These "hanmoji" parallels offer an exciting new way to learn Chinese--and a fascinating window into the evolution of Chinese Han characters.
Learn American Sign Language by James W. Guido
ISBN: 9781577151074
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
American Sign Language (ASL) is a vibrant, easy-to-learn language that is used by approximately half a million people each day. Current with the latest additions to ASL and filled with thousands of photographs featuring deaf actors, Learn American Sign Language is the most comprehensive guide of its kind.