Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DLIELC Library

Open Access Databases

This list provides a number of resources that offer FREE or Open Access to articles, dissertations, primary sources, electronic books, and more.

Please remember that Interlibrary Loan is available to assist with requesting those resources not available for FREE or through Open Access.

Please contact the library or your librarian with any questions, to schedule a research consultation, or for personalized assistance!

Open Access Databases
CLICK ON THE LOGOS TO ACCESS 
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,788,079 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

 

Open and free content on JSTOR

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

ProQuest databases provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

For Open Access, look for the symbol.

ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Also, discover a large collection of Social Sciences and Humanities journals and books, highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.

Limit Access Type to "Open Access"

SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.

Search peer-reviewed jounals and articles.

 

Limit to "Only Show Open Access"

Google Scholar and More
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions.
HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Science and Medicine

BioMed Central (BMC) has an evolving portfolio of over 300 peer-reviewed, open access journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. 

https://www.biomedcentral.com/about

PLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/

Electronic Books
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a searchable database of peer reviewed scientific electronic books that have been made accessible by academic publishers in open access.