Home: Seymour Johnson AFB Library: Leadership and Decision Making

Finding Books

Seymour Johnson AFB Library offers a variety of books on military leadership and books on decision making that you can use in your continued professional development readings.

Other Resources

There are several ways to find books in your subject area of interest. Use the following resources to locate them:

Search Amazon.com's database of leadership and decision making books, which include scholarly titles.
Not sure what leadership book you are looking for? Try Goodreads.com's database of leadership books.
Search Project Gutenberg's database of FREE electronic books (eBooks or eTexts) covering multiple subjects and disciplines.
Search the Online Books Page for access to books that are freely readable over the Internet covering multiple subjects and disciplines.

Finding Articles

Seymour Johnson AFB Library offers several Online Resources to access information about Military Leadership and Skills, but they require you sign in using your library card and PIN to access.

Other Resources

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature across multiple disciplines.

Leadership Recommended Reading List

8 Leadership Lessons from the Military
An article discussing 8 lessons learned from 8 highly effective leaders in today's VUCA (Volatile, Uncertain, Complex, Ambiguous) business environment. Each of the lessons can be applied in our own lives.
21st Century Military Leadership
This article lays out 6 points for how the military needs to adjust the development of their leaders. The military needs to continue to develop future leaders with skill sets much more expanded than their more traditional predecessors.

It Worked for Me by Colin Powell
Call Number: CSAF2016 973.931 POW
ISBN: 9780062135124
Publication Date: 2012-05-22
It Worked for Me is a culmination of life experiences of Colin Powell over his distinguished career as a four-star general and Secretary of State. Powell provides leadership presentations all over the world and his "Thirteen Rules" form the foundation of his leadership message.
Leaders Eat Last by Simon Sinek
Call Number: CSAF2017 658.4 SIN
ISBN: 9781591845324
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
In Leaders Eat Last, Sinek demonstrates how creating the "circle of safety" leads to teams that are confident and adaptive, which enables the team to focus entirely on a task or challenge. Derived from a military concept, Leaders Eat Last fosters an environment where organizational interests are achieved by deeply loyal personnel.

Includes an expanded chapter and appendix on leading millennials., based on Simon Sinek's viral video "Millenials in the workplace" (150+ million views).
Turn the Ship Around! by L. David Marquet; Stephen R. Covey (Foreword by)
Call Number: Air Force Overdrive eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781591846406
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
The true story of former Navy captain David Marquet. Provides insight into the various areas of organizational leadership and challenges the traditional leader-follower leadership model by advocating the leader at every level model.
The Dichotomy of Leadership by Jocko Willink; Leif Babin
Call Number: 658.4092 WIL
ISBN: 9781250195777
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
The Dichotomy of Leadership explores finding balance between the opposing forces that pull every leader in different directions. Mastering the Dichotomy of Leadership requires understanding when to lead and when to follow; when to aggressively maneuver and when to pause and let things develop; when to detach and let the team run and when to dive into the details and micromanage. Includes examples from the authors' combat and training experiences in the SEAL teams, and then a demonstration of how each lesson applies to the business world.

Decision Making Recommended Reading List

A Naturalistic Decision Making Perspective on Studying Intuitive Decision Making
Article discussing Naturalistic Decision Making (NDM) and ways to strengthen intuitive decision making.

The Art of Thinking Clearly by Rolf Dobelli
Call Number: CSAF2018 153.42 DOB
ISBN: 9780062219695
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
Discusses ways to transform the way you think and your decision-making in all areas of life. The author identifies cognitive biases so we can avoid making poor decisions. We can always improve on our decision making processes.

Decision Making Recommended Viewing List

Portrays an example of decision-making qualities needed in command leadership during a discussion between the skipper of U-571 and the executive officer.

Leadership Recommended Viewing List

General Colin Powell speaking on his view of the essence of leadership.

General James Mattis (Ret.) answers questions from Marines in this candid talk on Lessons in Leadership.

Although directly intended for members of the Army, the video provides a great description of leadership principles, attributes, and core competencies that apply to all members of the military.

General Stanley McChrystal discusses how listening and learning, then leading creates the sense of shared purpose among diverse groups. His viewpoint spans his decades of service in the military and his role in leading the diverse members of the US Army.

Simon Sinek suggests in this TED Talk that a great leader is someone that makes their employees feel trusted, safe and secure.

Using Apple, Martin Luther King Jr. and the Wright brothers, Simon Sinek discusses his model for inspirational leadership. It all starts with a golden circle and the question "Why?"

Depicts an example of why, under certain circumstances, the leader needs to convey a sense of confidence by knowing all. Luckily, the Chief of the Boat provides clarity and sound guidance for the executive officer.