For Kids: Who said math or science can’t be fun or cool? Our STEM section helps kids, 12 and under, find fun and exciting ways to learn about science, technology, engineering, and math. We have books, videos, and links to other stuff on the Internet that will spark your imagination. We even have some things that your parents might like!
For Parents: Our STEM collection includes a variety of resources intended to satisfy the information needs and interests of children in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics while supporting interdisciplinary learning in a fun, relatable fashion. Resources considered for this collection aid children’s learning journey by introducing necessary skills such as critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity.
The STEM collection provides for children of different abilities, ages, and backgrounds by introducing and supporting discovery of STEM concepts both inside and outside the classroom. Types of resources acquired and compiled for this collection include books, periodicals, instructional video, databases, and links to other useful sources on the Internet. Although the collection focuses on children as the primary consumer, additional resources are included to aid parents in helping their children with learning STEM concepts and aiding with STEM projects.
Each item has an attached description, hover your mouse pointer over the 
icon to read the descriptions.
Women in Computer Science by
Reading level : 8 - 11
Grade Level: 3 - 4
Computer scientists code the programs that we use every day on our computers, tablets, and smartphones. They help us work, communicate, and play games. Women in Computer Science looks at individuals who are making a major difference in this field. Compelling text, full-color photos, and helpful back matter highlight these women and their work. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Software Engineer by
Reading level : 6 - 9
Grade Level : 2 - 3
In Software Engineer, carefully leveled text and vibrant, full-color photographs take early fluent readers on an informational interview with a software engineer. Readers learn about the day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of this career and the things they can do now to prepare for work as a software engineer. An infographic illustrates the tools of the trade, and an activity offers kids an opportunity to extend discovery. Children can learn more about software engineers online using our safe search engine that provides relevant, age-appropriate websites. Software Engineer also features reading tips for teachers and parents, a table of contents, a glossary, and an index.
STEAM Kids by
A year's worth of captivating STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Math) activities that will wow the boredom right out of kids!Created by an MIT engineer, award winning educators, designers, and homeschooling experts, STEAM Kids will inspire your children to: question like a scientist design like a technologist build like an engineer create like an artist deduce like a mathematician - and, most importantly - play like a kid!Inside you'll find entertaining and educational projects like:- Rainbow Reactions- PVC Pipe Slingshot- Grafitti Art & Science- Color Changing Play Dough- Diaper Science- Circuit Bugs- Candy Mazes & so much more!Perfect for children ages 4-10, all the step-by-step activities are helpfully coded with difficulty indicators and estimated project times. Helpful project extensions promote further exploration and learning for enthusiastic children.Bonus materials will make things easy for parents and educators, and include: a handy weekly planning guide, project shopping lists, STEAM journal and more.So gather up your curious kids and get your STEAM on!
Changing the Equation by
Reading level : 10 - 14
Grade Level : 5 - 9
A celebratory and inspiring look at some of the most important Black women in STEM Award-winning author Tonya Bolden explores Black women who have changed the world of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in America. Including groundbreaking computer scientists, doctors, inventors, physicists, pharmacists, mathematicians, aviators, and many more, this book celebrates more than 50 women who have shattered the glass ceiling, defied racial discrimination, and pioneered in their fields. In these profiles, young readers will find role models, inspirations, and maybe even reasons to be the STEM leaders of tomorrow. These stories help young readers to dream big and stay curious.
Counting the Stars by
Reading Level: Age 4 - 8
Grade Level: Kindergarten - 3
Ever wonder how important figures in history became known for their contributions in STEM related fields? Counting the Stars tells Katherine Johnson’s story as a pioneer in NASA’s space program. Despite the issues facing African Americans and women in the 1960s, Katherine used her skills in math to help with several space program firsts, such as the first manned space flight, the first manned orbit of Earth, and the first trip to the moon. This is a great, illustrated story to introduce young children to STEM concepts.
Astronomer by
Reading level : 8 - 12
Grade Level : 2 - 3
In Astronomer, carefully leveled text and vibrant, full-color photographs take early fluent readers on an informational interview with a space scientist. Readers learn about the day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of this career and the things they can do now to prepare for work as an astronomer. An infographic illustrates the tools of the trade, and an activity offers kids an opportunity to extend discovery. Children can learn more about astronomers online using our safe search engine that provides relevant, age-appropriate websites. Astronomer also features reading tips for teachers and parents, a table of contents, a glossary, and an index.
Roots, Stems, Leaves, and Flowers by
In this book, readers will discover all about the basic structure of plants and the jobs that roots, stems, leaves, and flowers do. Packed with information about wild and garden plants, this title gets readers investigating how plants take in water, make food with their leaves, and produce seeds. Students will even get to go on scavenger hunts to find out all about leaves, tree bark, and colorful flower petals.
Civil Engineer by
Reading level : 8 - 12
Grade Level : 2 - 3
In Civil Engineer, carefully leveled text and vibrant, full-color photographs take early fluent readers on an informational interview with a civil engineer. Readers learn about the day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of this career and the things they can do now to prepare for work as an civil engineer. An infographic illustrates the tools of the trade, and an activity offers kids an opportunity to extend discovery. Children can learn more about civil engineers online using our safe search engine that provides relevant, age-appropriate websites. Civil Engineer also features reading tips for teachers and parents, a table of contents, a glossary, and an index.
The Dynamic World of Drones by
Reading Level: Age 8 - 14
Grade Level: 4 - 6
Join super scientist Max Axiom as he explores the technology behind and everyday use of drones in our world. Science and engineering content central to the STEM Initiative comes alive in full-color graphic novel format. Max's adventures make it all fun!
Minds in motion! by Defining Gravity: Crash Course Kids Episode 4.1
What is gravity? Does gravity pull everything down no matter where it is? The first time someone tries to explain how gravity works at an early age is often described as gravity pulls everything down but it is not completely accurate. Discusses the subject in easy to understand terms and visuals while providing examples that engage the child/student. This Crash Course Kids video, based on 5th grade science, tackles teaching what gravity is and how it works in our world. A fun and informative way to support STEM learning.
Note for Parents and Teachers: This online video resource has been vetted by NSTA curators for providing teachers with clear and easy to understand examples but requires the inclusion of some suggested modifications in order to align it with NGSS Science and Engineering practices.
Explore curious topics that makes you ask "why?" or "how?" Every week SciShow Kids answers your questions about science for all ages.