Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Culture and Diversity
Culture and Diversity is often an overlooked element in leadership that is deserving of attention. We are at our best when groups of diverse people work together and capitalize on the individuality of it's members. However, we need to acknowledge and overcome our individual biases in order to effect real change. By acknowledging our biases and working with diverse groups, we will achieve superior outcomes to a multitude of problems our communities, society, and institutions face today.
Take a look at the resources listed in this section as you continue to develop your leadership skills.
ACC/AFSOC/AFGSC Libraries offers a variety of books on diversity that you can use in your continued professional development.
There are several ways to find books in your subject area of interest. Use the following resources to locate them:
- Search Amazon.com's database of books which include scholarly titles.
- Not sure what diversity book you are looking for? Try Goodreads.com's database of diversity books.
- Search Project Gutenberg's database of FREE electronic books (eBooks or eTexts).
- Search the Online Books Page for access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
Seymour Johnson AFB Library offers several Online Resources to access information about Culture and Diversity, but they require you sign in using your library card and PIN to access.
- Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature across multiple disciplines.
Attitudes Aren't Free by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
One of the major hallmarks of our U.S. armed forces is diversity. In “Attitudes Aren’t Free: Thinking Deeply about Diversity in the US Armed Forces,” several essays discuss critical areas such as religious expression, open homosexuality, race, gender, ethics, and other current issues affecting military members. Parco and Levy provide robust discussion on the subject by leveraging the plurality of perspective, the great strength and essence of diversity, on our journey towards greater understanding and mutual respect of our fellow Americans.
Call Number: CSAF2016 155.92 BAN
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
Blindspot explores the hidden biases we all developed during a lifetime of exposure to cultural attitudes and provides tools for counteracting them. The authors provide insight into how social groups shape our judgements about people and the attributes we associate with those judgements.
The Culture Code by
Call Number: CSAF2018 658.4 COY
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
The author takes a deep dive into several diverse teams or groups to identify three key skills that enable the groups to function as one. The author provides strategies for triggering learning, collaboration in an effort to instill positive change.
The Difference by
Call Number: CSAF2018 658.3 PAG
Publication Date: 2007-02-04
This book describes the difference how we think in groups. The author examines ways that diversity yields superior outcomes and how diversity logic can be applied to problems.
A Passion for Leadership by
Call Number: 352.293 GAT
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
A Passion for Leadership provides insight into how large institutions can be transformed by increasing diversity in the operative culture of such institutions and bureaucracies. Gates, the former Secretary of Defense, provides an inside look into how leadership can effect change regardless of the size or scale of the organization.
Leaders Eat Last by
Call Number: CSAF2017 658.4 SIN
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
In Leaders Eat Last, Sinek demonstrates how creating the "circle of safety" leads to teams that are confident and adaptive, which enables the team to focus entirely on a task or challenge. Derived from a military concept, Leaders Eat Last fosters an environment where organizational interests are achieved by deeply loyal personnel. Includes an expanded chapter and appendix on leading millennials.
Call Number: 331.133 GOR
Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Let the CEO of Rework Work help you understand diversity, equity, and inclusion concepts to actively remove bias from the workplace. Dismantling unhealthy workplaces involves much more than talking about it, and more than charts, graphs, and statistics--it requires action. Although it's increasingly common for businesses of all shapes and sizes to appreciate the importance of diversity and inclusion in the workplace, many are often unaware of bias in the cultures they've created. Others might know there's a problem, but don't know how to properly address it. UNBIAS: Addressing Unconscious Bias At Work helps you understand concepts of workplace diversity, equity, and inclusion, shows you how to identify bias, and provides you with the tools for actively removing barriers and ensuring equity throughout your organization.
The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias by
Call Number: 658.3 FUL
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
A timely, must-have guide to understanding and overcoming bias in the workplace, from the experts at FranklinCovey. Unconscious bias affects everyone. Ideal for every manager who wants to understand and move past their own preconceived ideas, The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias explains that bias is the result of mental shortcuts, our likes and dislikes, and is a natural part of the human condition. Teaching you how to overcome unconscious bias, this book provides more than thirty unique tools, such as a prep worksheet and a list of ways to reframe your unconscious thoughts. By recognizing bias, emphasizing empathy and curiosity, and making true understanding a priority in the workplace, we can unlock the potential of every person we encounter.