Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Peterson Library

Peterson Space Force Base

How to Access eResources

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

  • Ancestry
  • Artistworks
  • BookFlix
  • Britannica Academic
  • Britannica Annals of American History
  • Britannica ImageQuest
  • Britannica Library
  • Chilton Library
  • Consumer Reports
  • EBSCO  eBooks Public Library Collection
  • EBSCO eBooks Cricket Media  Collection
  • Explora Educator's Edition
  • Explora Primary Schools

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

  • FreedomFlix
  • Freegal Music
  • Gale Academic OneFile
  • Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
  • Gale Business: Plan Builder
  • Gale eBooks
  • Gale General OneFile
  • Gale Health and Wellness
  • Gale In Context:  Biography
  • Gale In Context: Elementary
  • Gale In Context: Middle School
  • Gale In Context: Science
  • Gale Legal Forms
  • Gale Miss Humblebees Academy (3-6)
  • Gale National Geographic Kids
  • Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
  • Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
  • Gale Online Resources
  • GreenFILE
  • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
  • Home Improvement Reference Center

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

  • Kanopy
  • LearningExpress Library OSD Test Prep
  • Libby
  • Mango Languages
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
  • National Geographic Virtual Library
  • Novelist Plus
  • Novelist Plus K-8
  • O'Reilly
  • OverDrive (OverDrive is changing to Libby!)

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

  • PressReader
  • ScienceFlix
  • Small Engine Repair Reference Center
  • Teachables
  • Teacher Reference Center 
  • The Great Courses Library Collection
  • TrueFlix
  • Tutor.com

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

  • Universal Class
  • Wall Street Journal NEW
  • Weiss Financial Ratings
  • World Book Online 
  • World Book Online Activity Corner
  • World Book Online Advanced
  • World Book Online Discover
  • World Book Online Dramatic Learning
  • World Book Online Early Learning
  • World Book Online eBooks
  • World Book Online Kids
  • World Book Online Student
  • World Book Online Timelines

All eResources are available for FREE from your Peterson Library! To access the resources, sign in to the library catalog with your Patron ID on your library card. Have questions? Call us at 719-556-7462 or email peterson.base.library@gmail.com. To get a library card, visit the Peterson Library and we will be happy to get you set-up!

BookFlix (from Scholastic) is a digital literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction titles to reinforce early reading skills and develop real-world knowledge. This cultivates key reading skills, supports reluctant readers and ELL students, and builds fluency, vocabulary, and reading comprehension. 

 

EBSCO Cricket Media Collection. Short-form fiction and non-fiction e-book collection includes more than 700 titles covering a wide range of subjects designed to build strong literacy skills in young readers from pre-K to 8th grade.

Explora provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. ​​​​​​

FreedomFlix  – (grades 4-10) – Who says history has to be boring? Featuring dynamic eBooks of the Children’s Press best-selling Cornerstones of Freedom series!

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.

Gale In Context: Middle School considered an indispensable reference resource for grades 6-12 national and state curriculum standards.

National Geographic Kids from Gale is strategically tailored to meet the learning and educational interests of children, with special focus placed upon science, exploring nature, learning about different cultures, and archaeology and space.

NoveList Plus K-8 provides a trusted source of information curated specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.

ScienceFlix – (grades 4-10 with STEM Middle/HS focus) – Science for the Next Generation!

TrueFlix – (grades 3-5) Bringing award-winning True Books to Life to help students master Social Studies and Science content knowledge through literacy!  

World Book Online- The premier suite of digital resources for schools and libraries, with content to engage and excite all minds from pre-readers to advanced researchers. The databases are progressive and align users with their appropriate learning level. Seamlessly integrate with popular single sign-on providers and learning management systems or link content to other platforms for teaching and learning. The built-in tools are accessible, flexible, and easy to use. Use the virtual training guide for support material, promotional items, and free resources. (All ages and reading levels) 

Freegal® Music is a free music service from your library. Freegal offers access to 15 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists. Download up to five (5) songs or videos per week. 24 streaming per day limit. No software installation required. Compatible with Windows Media, iTunes, and other popular media players.

From the comfort of home, access the latest in movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics, and TV shows. Stream or download with the Hoopla app.  Compatible with iOS, Android, Kindle Fire, and Roku.

Select from over 30,000 thousand award-winning films and documentaries available from Kanopy.  Classic-films, world cinema, popular movies, plus a whole lot more educational and entertainment films to choose from.  Access from anywhere, anytime, with any device.

Test prep resources available for elementary, middle school, high school, and college students; GED, HiSET, and TASC prep; popular software programs tutorials (i.e., Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Illustrator & Photoshop); and much more.  Please note: account creation required for access.

Mango Languages provides access to more than 70 languages.   English Language Learning courses, films, along with numerous specialty courses are offered. 

Online tutoring and homework help for U.S. military and their families provided 24/7 at no cost. 

World Book Online- The premier suite of digital resources for schools and libraries, with content to engage and excite all minds from pre-readers to advanced researchers. The databases are progressive and align users with their appropriate learning level. Seamlessly integrate with popular single sign-on providers and learning management systems or link content to other platforms for teaching and learning. The built-in tools are accessible, flexible, and easy to use. Use the virtual training guide for support material, promotional items, and free resources. (All ages and reading levels) 

Children, Young Adults, or the Reference Center—allow users to find the most suitable content for school projects or for learning something new.

Scholastic Teachables – (PreK – 6th Grade) Scholastic Teachables offers printable activities for any subject: math, science, reading comprehension, STEM, writing, and beyond. Download printable lesson plans, reading passages, games and puzzles, clip art, bulletin board ideas, teacher supports, and skills sheets. Over 25,000 teacher created, vetted printables to support your instruction.

A research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.

Gale ChiltonLibrary.com provides step-by-step automotive repair procedures for nearly every vehicle make and model.  Includes manufacturer recommended maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls, and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs). 

O'Reilly is a leading e-reference resource for technology and business professionals.  Offers access to more than 57,000 eBooks, videos, and tutorials.  Technology, digital media & professional development topics all heavily emphasized.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center from EBSCO contains over 400 reference books with original photos and illustrations for small engine repair assistance. This collection of full-text content provides detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all types of small engines. 

 

How to Use Libby (Formerly Overdrive)

Introduction to Libby

The free Libby app is the easiest way to get started with e-books and audiobooks from Peterson Library library. All you need to do is download the app and sign into our library using your library card number to begin browsing the digital collection.

 

Watch the getting started video:

https://help.libbyapp.com/6103.htm

 

Getting Started

Getting started is easy! Just follow these simple instructions:

  1. Install the Libby app from the app store on your Android or iOS device.
  2. In Libby, follow the prompts to find Peterson Space Force Library and sign in with your library card number.
  3. Browse the digital collection and borrow a title.

 

What you'll need:

What do you need to enjoy free instant access to digital e-books and audiobooks?

  • Your library card number
  • Internet Access
  • A smartphone, tablet, or ereader (Kindle, Nook, etc)
  • The free Libby app, which can be downloaded for free from your device's app store

 

Borrowing Privileges:

  • Titles are automatically returned at the end of the lending period. No late fees!
  • Check out up to [X] titles at a time.
  • Borrow titles for up to [X] days.
  • You can place a hold on [X] titles at a time.

 

Quick Tips:

If a title is not available, you can place a hold.

  • After you place a hold, view your spot in line by going to your Shelf, tapping Holds, then tapping Wait List.

 

You can view your place in line for a hold.

  • After you place a hold, go to Shelf > Holds and tap the calendar icon. You'll see your approximate wait time, the number of copies in use, and the number of people waiting.

 

You can save time by saving your preferences.

  • Tap Preferences at the top of your library's home screen, or at the top of any list. Adjust your filters and default sorting option. Tap Apply Preferences.

 

You can explore more book recommendations.

  • Tap Explore at the top of your library's home screen to discover your next great read. Search by subject, popularity, what's available, and more.
  •  

You can add more than one library card.

  • Tap the Libby icon in the top right corner, then tap Add a Library. You can search by name of zip code.

Need Additional Help?

There is an in-app support feature to help answer frequently asked questions.

Visit: https://help.libbyapp.com/

Tutor.com/military