Eglin Community Library: POLICIES

3.7.5. Replacing or paying for lost, damaged or destroyed materials (including interlibrary loan materials). Borrowers must replace or reimburse the library for all lost, damaged or destroyed materials. (T-2). Items are considered lost when reported as such by the borrower or have not been returned by the borrower within the period of time determined by the installation commander (commander cannot make an overdue period less than some minimum time period, e.g., two weeks). The following criteria apply: 3.7.5.1. Borrowers replace materials with a new copy of the same title or a title selected and approved by the librarian or; 3.7.5.2. Borrowers reimburse the library for lost or damaged materials in accordance with the standard payment procedures outlined in Defense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS)-DE 7010.1-R, General Accounting and Finance Systems at Base Level.

Property Marking of Library Materials. All materials are USAF property, regardless of the fund or procurement source. Staff members must affix property markings on all acquired materials, including those that are purchased for office use as well as donations added to the collection. Remove all property markings when withdrawing materials from the collection. 

Are there any Overdue fines? Military libraries do not charge Overdue fines. You are signing out government property; the expectation is that you will use it respectfully and return it in a timely manner.

16.17. Replacing or paying for lost, damaged or destroyed materials. The library program manager must ensure borrowers replace or reimburse the library for all lost, damaged or destroyed materials. (T-3). Lost, damaged or destroyed materials are replaced with a new copy of the same title or a title selected and approved by the librarian. The patron reimburses the library for lost or damaged materials IAW the standard payment procedures outlined in Defense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS) 7010.1-R, General Accounting and Finance Systems at Base Level.

I am going TDY and need to keep things longer. If you are going TDY, please let us know when you check out.  We will give you a special Due Date based on your trip time frame.  Deployments are usually too long for this service, but ask us and we’ll try to assist you.

Please check in at the circulation desk for access to any computer. You will receive a card with the password to the computer you're assigned. Please return computer cards to the circulation desk when finished. Computers use Deep Freeze Security. Save all work to a flash drive, Google Drive, Cloud, etc. otherwise, items will be deleted when the PC shuts down due to inactivity or restart.

-You will have 30 minutes on the computer. If not other patrons are waiting, you may use the computers for an extended period until another patron requires access. 

- Computers shut down 10 minutes before closing

- If you need a JAVA update, the front desk may be able to update.

- Use your professional judgment on the websites you visit as your computer is visible to others.

- Printing Limit - 10 pages per day (single or double side). There is no charge. 

- Patrons must log off and return computer cards to the front desk by closing.

- All drinks must be covered; no food allowed near computers.

-You may not use the computers to view any pornographic and/or other illegal sites. Please remember, this is a family establishment.

- Observe copyright notices and warning screens and comply with copyright law. Digital content and materials on the Internet are protected under copyright law. Unauthorized distribution, reproduction, or transmission is illegal, and offenders are subject to prosecution.

- Please use computers in a responsible, ethical, and lawful manner.  Deliberately crashing, vandalizing, or otherwise compromising a computer or network, degrading performance; or unnecessarily consuming large amounts of system resources are serious offenses and may result in loss of library privileges and disciplinary action. Respect other users of library computers and do not harass or interfere with them.

- For your protection, please remember to log off when you have finished using a library computer.

Protecting user privacy and confidentiality has long been an integral part of the intellectual freedom mission of libraries. The right to free inquiry as assured by the First Amendment depends upon the ability to read and access information free from scrutiny by the government or other third parties.  In their provision of services to library users, librarians have an ethical responsibility, expressed in the ALA Code of Ethics, to preserve users' right to privacy. Librarians and libraries may also have a legal obligation to protect library users' personally identifiable information and data from unauthorized disclosure and use.

AFI 34-101

3.3.4. American Library Association Bill of Rights. Directors must follow the current American Library Association Bill of Rights American Library (http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/librarybill) to ensure that the selection process is free from censorship. (T-0) Apply the principles of intellectual freedom, not only in selection, but also in all aspects of service, by implementing the Interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights, the Privacy Act, and the procedures for handling complaints set forth in the Intellectual Freedom Manual and updates from the American Library Association Office of Intellectual Freedom. Adherence to federal regulations takes precedence. The General Collection Guidelines section of our Collection Development Policy reads, "Individuals may reject for themselves, or their own children, items that they find unsuitable. Parents are responsible for the materials borrowed by their children, and those who wish to limit, or restrict their children's use of the library should personally oversee their selections. The Library cannot act in the place of the parent.

Since gifts add many valuable titles to our collection, the library welcomes donations of useful materials. The library will not accept gifts or donations with restrictions attached to their disposition or location. Gifts will be subject to the same selection criteria as other items, with the additional consideration of condition in the case of used materials, and will be added to the collection if they are determined to be appropriate. The library reserves the right to dispose of any unneeded publications, regardless of how they were acquired. Donations accepted on a case-by-case situation. Please refer to the most updated information provided by the Supervisory Librarian. We will NEVER accept old, worn, or outdated materials. 

Library Bill of Rights

The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas and that the following basic policies should guide their services.

I. Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.

II. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.

III. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment.

IV. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting abridgment of free expression and free access to ideas.

V. A person’s right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, age, background, or views.

VI. Libraries which make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs or affiliations of individuals or groups requesting their use.

Adopted June 19, 1939, by the ALA Council; amended October 14, 1944; June 18, 1948; February 2, 1961; June 27, 1967; January 23, 1980; inclusion of “age” reaffirmed January 23, 1996.

Although the Articles of the Library Bill of Rights are unambiguous statements of basic principles that should govern the service of all libraries, questions do arise concerning application of these principles to specific library practices. See the documents designated by the Intellectual Freedom Committee as Interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights.

3.3.1. Collection materials. Collections must include materials to support AF initiatives, organizational mission and technical requirements, professional military and voluntary education programs, lifelong learning and quality of life for adults, teens and children. (T-2). Lease and purchase plans which provide multiple copies of newly published items to meet customer demand may be utilized. 

3.3.2. Material selection. Select materials using subject specialist input, professional journals, bibliographic tools and collection analysis. Also, use interlibrary loan indicators, customer requests, and market surveys for collection development. 3.3.3. Information format. Provide information in print, non-print, and electronic formats; utilize new technologies to maximize information access. Ensure customers have convenient access to information in online databases and other electronic products.