LibKey is an API, or application programming interface, from Third Iron that works with the AFRL/RW Technical Library subscriptions to provide quick, one-click access to the full text of journal articles available to Tech Library users. Currently LibKey has four products available: LibKey Discovery, LibKey Nomad, LibKey Link, and LibKey.io.
While some of the features of LibKey utilize the BrowZine platform, it is not necessary to have a BrowZine account to take advantage of their functionality. Users may need to log in with their EZ Proxy Login when connecting to the full text of articles.
LibKey Discovery works with the AFRL/RW Technical Library discovery service. When viewing results, LibKey Discovery allows you to connect directly to the PDF of an article with just one click by choosing the "LibKey Full Text Finder" from the drop down menu of Access options.
LibKey Discovery also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication. You can access this by choosing "View Complete Issue" from the drop down menu of Access options.
Additionally, LibKey Discovery will show if an article has been retracted, or removed, from an already published journal.
LibKey.io allows users to input a DOI or PMID and connect to the full text of articles available through the Tech Library. It works with all browsers.
The first time you use LibKey.io you may need to select AFRL Munitions Directorate Technical Library as your library.
After searching for a DOI or PMID you will be taken to the LibKey landing page. If the full text of an article is available, you will be able to choose to view either the PDF or the HTML version. For some articles, the PDF may not be available but you can still go to the HTML version on the journal's platform.
Directly below the PDF and article links you can check a box so that LibKey will remember your format selection for 24 hours. This means that you will be taken directly to the article, in the format you choose, instead of the landing page for the next 24 hours.
LibKey also provides a link to view an article in context. This takes you to the table of contents for the journal issue your article appears in, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.
Having trouble? Click on the link at the bottom of the LibKey landing page to view all content access options for an article.
If the full text of an article cannot be found, or if it is not available through the Tech Library, you will be taken to a page where you can check the library catalog for the journal or place an interlibrary loan request.
LibKey.io may also be used as a prefix to any DOI or PMID to create stable links. LibKey.io will identify where the user is coming from, what their entitlements are, how they authenticate and so on (see the linking syntax documentation for more information).
To create stable links with LibKey.io:
Add "libkey.io/" in front of any DOI or PMID in your browser's search bar and LibKey.io will look for the article.