Skip to Main Content

Robins AFB Library: Recommended

Children's Reading List by Grade!

Pre-K (Ages 3-5)

Kindergarten (Ages 5-6)

1st Grade (Ages 6-7)

2nd Grade (Ages 7-8)

3rd Grade (Ages 8-9)

4th Grade (Ages 9-10)

5th Grade (Ages 10-11)

Children's Recommendations by Genre!


Science Fiction




Reading Recommendations by Genre!

Science Fiction



Historical Fiction

Action & Adventure

Science Fiction



Historical Fiction


Science Fiction




Historical Fiction


Read Before You Watch!

First of a Series!

BookTok Recommends!

... BookTok is a hashtag used by creators who feature book recommendations, reviews, and memes. For those who can't decide what to read next, #BookTok is the place to go. From "books that will make you sob" to "books I couldn't put down," you'll find a variety of book lists and videos recommending different books to read. On top of book recommendations, you may find other relatable videos for book lovers like "which dress are you wearing to dramatically run through a castle to your lover?" or "the zodiac signs as hunger games districts." (Source)

PBS-The Great American Read!

Award Winners to Read Through!

The Booker Library

Every book that has ever been longlisted for the Booker or International Booker Prize is on a shelf in our library. What will catch your eye and hold your gaze from the last 50 years of fictional excellence? Leaf through the books in our library to find one that pulls you in, whatever your tastes, whatever your interests. Please note: browsing is encouraged.

All Nobel Prizes in Literature

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 114 times to 118 Nobel Prize laureates between 1901 and 2021.

The National Book Foundation

The National Book Foundation was founded in 1989 to administer the National Book Awards, which has been one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the country since 1950. The Foundation also produces numerous educational and public programs that help connect readers to books in new and meaningful ways.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. The award winner will be announced annually at the ALA Midwinter Meeting Youth Media Awards, with a shortlist of up to five titles named the first week of December. The award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.

Coretta Scott King Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.  The award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

Stonewall Book Award

Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award is given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience. The award is sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Roundt Table

William C. Morris Award

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.  The award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.

The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens.

Book List Fun Links


The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute an endorsement by the United States Air Force, the Department of Defense, or the Robins Air Force Base Library of this website and the information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare, and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information found at these locations. The links provided are consistent with the stated purpose of the webpage.