Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Robins AFB Library: August

Libguide for Robins AFB Library

American Artist Appreciation Month

August is American Artist Appreciation Month!

Check out some of these prominent art pieces you may or may not know were created by American artists.


Corey Barksdale

Jerry Bywaters

Winslow Homer

Jacob Lawrence

Emmanuel Leutze

Faith Ringgold

Gilbert Stuart

Henry Ossawa Tanner

Andy Warhol

James Abbott McNeill Whistler

Andrew Wyeth

Andy Warhol-Art Project Videos

Andy Warhol Art Project

Ben Tomsik-Finished Art Project

Lily Tomsik-Finished Art Project

Example-Andy Warhol-Inspired Art

Mary Cassatt (1844-1926)

Edward Hopper (1882-1967)

Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986)

Grant Wood (1891-1942)

Norman Rockwell (1894-1978)

Jackson Pollock (1912-1956)

Back to School!

Sign up through Military OneSource or Air Force Portal, or better yet, stop by the Library, and we can help you, too!

Educational Resources

Child, Youth, & Educational Resources

Starting School

National Book Lovers Day (August 9th) - Top Circulated Titles

Free Comic Books Day (August 14th)

National Aviation Day (August 19th)

National Dog Day (August 26th)

Online Resources

Sign up through Military OneSource or Air Force Portal for FREE access.

Stop by the Library, and we can help sign you up, too!

Children's Educational Resources

BookFlix (from Scholastic) is a digital literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction titles to reinforce early reading skills and develop real-world knowledge.

FreedomFlix  – (grades 4-10) – Who says history has to be boring? Featuring dynamic eBooks of the Children’s Press best-selling Cornerstones of Freedom series!

ScienceFlix – (grades 4-10 with STEM Middle/HS focus) – Science for the Next Generation!  

We have a Launchpad learning tablet for every child. Whether you are teaching at home, looking for a way to keep kids engaged, need access to new learning materials, Launchpad has you covered. Just for kids. 100% secure. No internet needed. Borrow one today.

Launchpad learning tablets are loaded with a world of learning with apps, videos, storybooks, games just for kids. 100% secure. No internet needed.

Teachables

Scholastic Teachables – (PreK – 6th Grade) Scholastic Teachables offers printable activities for any subject: math, science, reading comprehension, STEM, writing, and beyond.

Educational Resources

ArtistWorks for Libraries provides patrons with world-class instruction through self-paced video lessons from Grammy Award–winning music and artistic professionals. Update as of 5/20/2021: now available on the Overdrive Libby app. Overdrive account required to access

The Great Courses Library Collection offers access to hundreds of courses taught by internationally recognized university faculty members from leading institutions of higher learning across the globe. Compatible with any device. Update as of 5/20/2021: Now available on the Overdrive Libby App. Overdrive account required to access.

Universal Class offers over 500 online courses on a wide range of subjects/levels. Courses are available 24/7, are instructor led, & self-paced. Some courses offer CEUs. Subject areas include: Computers and Technology, Personal Finance, Crafts and Hobbies, Homeschooling, Professional Development and many more.

Military and Military Family Focus

LearningExpress Library DoD Test Prep is specifically tailored to accommodate the needs of current and retired service members.

Online tutoring and homework help for U.S. military and their families provided 24/7 at no cost.

For Military Members. Kuder Journey is an intuitive career planning system that empowers postsecondary students and adults to make a successful transition, whether it’s planning for that first position, switching jobs, or taking a career to the next level.

DigitalU is the Air Force teaming up with Udemy to offer free Udemy business accounts. Udemy is an online learning and teaching marketplace with over 155,000 courses and 40 million students. From design and development to analytics and project management, there’s a transformative and rewarding career path for everyone at Digital University. Learn technologies to become a Data Scientist, Full Stack Web Developer, Machine Learning Engineer, Project Manager, Software developer, and many more.

Kuder Galaxy is an online career awareness system for elementary students that makes learning about the world of work fun by igniting the playful spirit of young learners through a series of educational games, activities, and experiences.

Designed by award-winning career guidance experts, Kuder Navigator is an all-in-one online education and career planning system that helps secondary students visualize their futures — and make the plans to get there.

For Civilians. Kuder Journey is an intuitive career planning system that empowers postsecondary students and adults to make a successful transition, whether it’s planning for that first position, switching jobs, or taking a career to the next level.

Gale Online Resources

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.

Gale In Context: Middle School considered an indispensable reference resource for grades 6-12 national and state curriculum standards.

Gale In Context: Middle School considered an indispensable reference resource for grades 6-12 national and state curriculum standards.

Gale Academic OneFile covers technology, medicine, engineering, arts, and literature. Considered a premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly content.

Gale General OneFile provides a broad collection of news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images and video that support general interest research and exploration.

Hoopla

Coding for Kids Collection-

Audiobooks

Ebooks

Music

Family Fun Collection:

Audiobooks

Ebooks

Comics

Music

Movies

Learn Something New Collection-

Audiobooks

Ebooks

Mango Languages

Mango Languages provides access to more than 70 languages. English Language Learning courses, films, along numerous specialty courses are offered.

Click to find out which languages are available here!

 

August 9th-United Nations' International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples

OverDrive/Libby

Book Lovers Day is August 9th!

OverDrive DoD MWR Libraries OverDrive offers access to a variety of language learning materials, eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, comics, and other digital content. Compatible with all devices.

Get ready for getting back to school with OverDrive/Libby!

Monthly Event Calendar-Click on the event to learn more information!